View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:13 pm



Reply to topic  [ 195 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Report issues here 
Author Message
Runner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 150
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
sorry for the double-post but I fixed my last post after retrying it with epsxe+all plugins... still no luck, though. :(


Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:56 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 2871
Location: Mexico
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Have you tried to contact the emulator authors?

_________________
From the mathematical perspective, consciousness might be regarded as a second derivative of sensation.
-- Terrel Miedaner

[Junker HQ]


Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:37 am
Profile WWW
Runner

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:35 pm
Posts: 117
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Not an issue, but actually a doubt regarding the translation.

Spoiler:
During the epilogue, is a literal translation when Jonathan and Ed say the team/friend part? Or was it more an ad-lib? Because I recall Jonathan's and Ed's MGS4 versions saying something different on the Act 3, and it were quotes from the Epilogue of Policenauts as well.


Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:20 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 12:58 pm
Posts: 21
Location: manchester,england
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Just a quick one but I think im missing something. Do you download the patch from the Main page of the policenauts.net site? It's just that when I click on any of the tabs at the top of the main page, nothing happens. The only tab that works is the one connecting to the forum and I've tried this on 2 pc's. Anyone?


Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:26 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 2871
Location: Mexico
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
It must certainly be a problem with your browser or settings, but you can use the html only page: http://policenauts.net/english/indext.html it is linked form the main page.

_________________
From the mathematical perspective, consciousness might be regarded as a second derivative of sensation.
-- Terrel Miedaner

[Junker HQ]


Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:53 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:11 pm
Posts: 94
Location: NYC
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I have the same thing too in IE8. Works fine in FireFox though.


Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:54 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 2871
Location: Mexico
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
It is a javascript problem with I.E. Looking into it, sorry about that.

_________________
From the mathematical perspective, consciousness might be regarded as a second derivative of sensation.
-- Terrel Miedaner

[Junker HQ]


Thu Sep 24, 2009 4:00 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:29 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I've just finished the first disc. Once I've changed to the second disc, and the title card "ACT 3: DRUG" appears, it fades to black and...

...

... I'm just sitting there, waiting. The screen just stays black; nothing happens. Anybody else have this problem?

_________________
Image


Sat Sep 26, 2009 4:18 am
Profile
General

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 3378
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Did you save your game at the end of Act 2? Try loading that file from the title screen (with Disc 2).


Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:09 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:29 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Booting the second CD gives me a black screen from the get-go. Loading my save file from the first disc, then changing to the second, gives me the same problem as before. I'm not sure what's going on. I think I'll just give up on Policenauts from here on out.

_________________
Image


Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:11 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I've searched the internet for answers, but all I seem to find are people having similar issues to my own but not quite the same thing.

The game hangs right after the intro, or whenever I press a button to skip the Konami logo or intro, simply staying on a black screen. I've tried waiting a few minutes, mashing buttons, trying out different BIOS' and plugins, but nothing seems to do it. I'm playing the game, or attempting to, on ePSXe using images.

Any help would be appreciated.


Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:16 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 2871
Location: Mexico
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Most probably a bad rip. Rip your game following the instructions in the readme file, and to verify test it before patching.

_________________
From the mathematical perspective, consciousness might be regarded as a second derivative of sensation.
-- Terrel Miedaner

[Junker HQ]


Mon Nov 30, 2009 12:21 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I'll try ripping it again, then. I forgot to test my image before patching them, clearly a mistake on my part.


Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:59 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:44 am
Posts: 91
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Okay, so ripping and patching were mostly trouble free for me, but I do have one question...

Does anyone else have trouble with the audio? Mine keeps screwing up, if I use pete's d3d plugins, the fmv's don't work properly. If I use the one that comes with epsxe, FMVs start working, but the in-game audio keeps cutting off every 5-10 seconds for like a portion of a second. Now, I suspect that it might just be my shitty netbook not being cabable of running the emulator, but I thought I'd ask.

I tried using pete's opengl plugin but the framerate I got was horrible...

_________________
The proximity of a desirable thing tempts one to overindulgence. On that path lies danger. - Frank Herbert


Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:32 pm
Profile
Second Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 357
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
XenoMorph wrote:
Okay, so ripping and patching were mostly trouble free for me, but I do have one question...

Does anyone else have trouble with the audio? Mine keeps screwing up, if I use pete's d3d plugins, the fmv's don't work properly. If I use the one that comes with epsxe, FMVs start working, but the in-game audio keeps cutting off every 5-10 seconds for like a portion of a second. Now, I suspect that it might just be my shitty netbook not being cabable of running the emulator, but I thought I'd ask.

I tried using pete's opengl plugin but the framerate I got was horrible...

Try using "P.E.O.p.S DSound 1.9" (I have it as an attachment) and use these settings. And I don't think it's your PC because I put the emulator on my old 98 machine it ran just fine :)


Attachments:
Settings.bmp
Settings.bmp [ 468.33 KiB | Viewed 3303 times ]
spuPeopsDSound.zip [25.52 KiB]
Downloaded 114 times

_________________
What Button Do You Press To Jump!?!
Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:00 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:44 am
Posts: 91
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Thank you for the help, unfortunately, it didn't work. I noticed the HDD light lights up every time there's significant lag in the FMVs, so I'm guessing the harddrive is just too slow and can't handle the movies. Shame really, but looks like I'm gonna need a proper computer to play this game.

_________________
The proximity of a desirable thing tempts one to overindulgence. On that path lies danger. - Frank Herbert


Sat Jan 23, 2010 7:16 am
Profile
Second Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 357
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
XenoMorph wrote:
Thank you for the help, unfortunately, it didn't work. I noticed the HDD light lights up every time there's significant lag in the FMVs, so I'm guessing the harddrive is just too slow and can't handle the movies. Shame really, but looks like I'm gonna need a proper computer to play this game.

Hold on! How about you use "P.E.O.p.S soft driver 1.18" as your video driver and here’s the settings I used on my windows 98 PC (I have P.E.O.p.S soft driver 1.18 as an attachment)


Attachments:
Video settings.bmp
Video settings.bmp [ 649.79 KiB | Viewed 3264 times ]
gpuPeopsSoft.zip [180.54 KiB]
Downloaded 99 times

_________________
What Button Do You Press To Jump!?!
Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:49 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:44 am
Posts: 91
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Actually, that was one of the firt things I tried after getting the errors playing the game. I noticed in the readme that this was the plugin they used to test the game when making the translation (or something). Im not that bothered by it, I'd rather play the game on a huge 46-inch LCD with a 5.1 sound system rather than a shitty netbook. All I need is a decent, cheap computer since I sold my previous one before embarking on a quest to Africa.

Besides, this netbook has seen some action, it has been tortured on Kenyan and Ugandan buses going 100mph on shitty dirt roads :D

_________________
The proximity of a desirable thing tempts one to overindulgence. On that path lies danger. - Frank Herbert


Sun Jan 24, 2010 8:00 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:43 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I thought some of the translations were off or even cringeworthy.
Spoiler:
Quoted for Truth? For the Win? I don't know why those were ever decided to be put in. Also it seems like some swearing was inserted just for the hell of it. On the moon I believe Jonathan or Ed yells "Salvatore!" but the translation says something like "Fucking Bastard!". I don't think its any cooler to introduce swearing for no reason.

Also at the start of the bike chase sequence, Ed tells Jonathan to be careful and its something like "Watch you don't fall!" which is horrible english :P . Should just be "Don't fall!" or "Be careful!" or "Watch out!"


Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:55 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:34 pm
Posts: 58
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
infinityBCRT wrote:
Also at the start of the bike chase sequence, Ed tells Jonathan to be careful and its something like "Watch you don't fall!" which is horrible english[/spoiler]


Remember, the characters aren't perfect speaking upper class citizens. From a translation perspective the above phrase is okay...it's bad English on behalf of Jonathan, but it suits the character.

When I pick my niece up from school she always climbs up this small wall and walks along it. And I literally say "Watch you don't fall"...or "Mind you don't fall". It's not really wrong, just improper.

But I do agree with some of the swearing, on my second playthrough I did find it a tad excessive.


Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:07 pm
Profile
General

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 3378
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
infinityBCRT wrote:
I thought some of the translations were off or even cringeworthy.
Spoiler:
Quoted for Truth? For the Win? I don't know why those were ever decided to be put in. Also it seems like some swearing was inserted just for the hell of it. On the moon I believe Jonathan or Ed yells "Salvatore!" but the translation says something like "Fucking Bastard!". I don't think its any cooler to introduce swearing for no reason.

Also at the start of the bike chase sequence, Ed tells Jonathan to be careful and its something like "Watch you don't fall!" which is horrible english :P . Should just be "Don't fall!" or "Be careful!" or "Watch out!"


The first two issues I talked about here. As for the third, no one pointed it out during beta testing, so I feel it too falls under personal opinion.


Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:43 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Honestly I think I noticed that last issue because I was playing the game with a mouse and I found it nearly impossible to beat that bike chase. Once I switched to a controller and started using auto-aim I beat it easily. I had to see that segment where Ed says "Watch you don't fall!" like 20 times :P

As far as the argument that internet speak will cross into mainstream language in 30 years, I doubt it. Only really really big nerds like us here understand that and even fewer of us actually use that type of language. And an even smaller number uses that type of language in real life. If anything, as the internet has become more mainstream, I've seen more literacy on the Internet. I guess we could argue ad-infinitum about this point.


Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:31 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:15 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I applied the patch using the Atlon patch for my Vista laptop and whenever i try and start it up i get this error message:

Opcode 2f UNK (PC ) (46, 245)

Can anyone help me out? The Japanese ISO's work fine.


Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:19 pm
Profile
Second Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:49 pm
Posts: 357
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
bertwyn6085 wrote:
I applied the patch using the Atlon patch for my Vista laptop and whenever i try and start it up i get this error message:

Opcode 2f UNK (PC ) (46, 245)

Can anyone help me out? The Japanese ISO's work fine.

Just to make sure it is not your ISO's try making new ISO's using steps I have written down in my "Ultimate Policenauts patch guide". If that does not work try using this program called "Delta patcher" (as an attachment) to patch your ISO's. You will have to take the "policenauts_patch1.xdt' and "policenauts_patch2.xdt" that are in the patches folder and get rid of the ".xdt" at the end of both of them and replace it with ".xdelta" so the program can recognize the files. Using the program is pretty straight forward just tell it where your first ISO is then where your first Xdelta patch file is then click patch and do the same with the second disk. Hope this helps! :wink:


Attachments:
Delta Patcher.zip [1.05 MiB]
Downloaded 100 times

_________________
What Button Do You Press To Jump!?!
Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:07 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Hi guys, I'm new and I'm having some problems with the ISO of an already patched copy of Policenauts

The problem is that I can't save state, because everytime I try to load a save state the game will freeze after a few seconds. I googled a bit and I followed some tip on a forum, where they were suggesting to create an "S" folder inside the sstates folder. I did it, but the "load state" problem is still there.

Any ideas?


Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:13 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 195 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.