View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 26, 2020 12:26 pm



Reply to topic  [ 202 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Report issues here 
Author Message

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:14 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
^ yes I did.


Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:05 pm
Profile
Policenaut Hacker
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:55 am
Posts: 1630
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Souther wrote:
Guess I'm gonna have to play this on epsxe which is cool and all because of mouse support but i reallywanted to just be able to play this on my PS2.


One of our testers really did get it working on his modded PS2, but I personally didn't have one - I've only done the PSP and PS1 patch playthroughs myself.


Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:09 pm
Profile
Runner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Northern Europe
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
FYI:

ePSXe with the e}I{-GPU plugin will crash hard when playing the shooting simulation after you've been handed your report card and it's supposed to take you back to the main game. Switching to another plugin worked remedied this (thank you, autosave!).

_________________
"The west, so afraid of powerful government, now has no government. Only financial power."

Localization, not translation.

It is a title screen.
Something pushes a button.


Last edited by epitaph on Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:14 pm
Profile
Second Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 378
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Ok, I just finished Disc 1 in ePSXe. Using the E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in causes issues in a few of the shooting segments, causing the game to freeze at the conclusion of them, and causing graphical glitches during the one I mentioned earlier.

I still need to test out disc 2, but this is how I'm thinking the optimal way to play it is:

Use Pete's OpenGL2 Driver 2.7 for the numbered acts and the prologue, then switch to E}I{'s plug-in for the Epilogue, so that the credits will roll properly. I don't know how the E}I{ plug-in will affect other aspects of the game, and I don't feel like testing it out in every "once-occuring" situation...I'd have hated to finish the infamous scene, just to have the game freeze on me.

_________________
Life and Death hang in perfect balance...I'm only here to tip the scales.


Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:15 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
man ive been trying to patch my isos all day. keep getting errors saying "xd3_invalid_input (checksum) error.

i also tried using all versions of xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe, but it says "xdelta3 input read failed not enough storage" before the windows closes really fast.

ive also been using isobuster to convert it to "extract cd image" to "raw bin/iso"

any help??

ill be playing this on my psp when i can successfully convert it.


Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:44 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:59 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Damn I played it for about an hour and saved at the shooting range, all this with epsxe. Everything in the game displayed fine and played fine. However when I tried to re-load the game, my saves were all gone! I booted epsxe with the BIOS and the Policenauts save just isn't there.

I even made a search for all of my HDDs for .mcr files and the one I used for epsxe is the only one that has been modified today.

What the hell has been going on...

Of course ultimately I wasted little time, and I could use save states, but apparently I still need to save to a memory card in order to switch discs with an epsxe playthrough, don't I?


Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:04 pm
Profile
Policenaut Hacker
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:55 am
Posts: 1630
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Try disabling the checksum test by adding a "-n" to the xdelta command.

xdelta -n -d -f -s Policenauts1.iso policenauts_final001.xdt Policenauts_English1.iso


Also, Renard, yes, you will need memory card saves. Look in the memcards directory of ePSXe. You should see two files epsxe000.mcr and epsxe001.mcr. Are they there?


Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:06 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 2936
Location: Mexico
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
dairugger wrote:
man ive been trying to patch my isos all day. keep getting errors saying "xd3_invalid_input (checksum) error.

i also tried using all versions of xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe, but it says "xdelta3 input read failed not enough storage" before the windows closes really fast.

ive also been using isobuster to convert it to "extract cd image" to "raw bin/iso"

any help??

ill be playing this on my psp when i can successfully convert it.


here you go:

Zhuk wrote:
Solution to Checksum Problems from NeoGAF:

I've found a solution, but it involves getting your fingers dirty and using the DOS prompt.

Firstly, rip your Policenauts CDs using IsoBuster as in Mr. Hyde's post. Put the disc into the PC's DVD drive, then open IsoBuster. From there, you should see a content tree with "Session 01" and "Track 01" on the left hand side; that's what's on your CD. Right-click on the "Track 01" entry, select "Extract Data", then select the bottommost option, "Extract RAW data (2532 bytes per...er, sector, or something, I can't remember). Let it rip, and you'll get a usable .iso for your trouble.

Secondly, make sure your .iso files are named Policenauts1.iso and Policenauts2.iso, and that these files are placed in the same folder as the patch files and the xdelta application.

Then, go to the Start menu, click the Run button, type "cmd" into the dialog box that opens and click Enter, navigate to that directory (by typing "cd [exact location of directory with patch and .iso's, beginning with the root drive]") and, when the DOS prompt gets there, type these instructions:

xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe -n -f -d -s Policenauts1.iso policenauts_patch1.xdt Policenauts_English1.iso
xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe -n -f -d -s Policenauts2.iso policenauts_patch2.xdt Policenauts_English2.iso

You see, there's a bug in xdelta that makes it not work properly with Athlon CPUs (something to do with checksums, I can't wrap my head around that stuff, don't ask me), and the "-n" command bypasses the checksum verification process. This will probably work on Intel systems too, but I can't confirm that.

And remember to always burn the .iso's to CD at the slowest speed possible! I had sound and loading problems up the wazoo with mine until I figured it out! Though I still don't get any sound on the intro movie for some reason. Everything else works fine; can anyone help?

_________________
From the mathematical perspective, consciousness might be regarded as a second derivative of sensation.
-- Terrel Miedaner

[Junker HQ]


Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:16 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:59 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Oh well, sorry, it looks like this was because I was playing the game off a USB stick, and somehow some of the folders were set to read only. Now starting another game seems to work fine

Weird though how the save state function doesn't seem to work. Anyhow I'll keep my fingers crossed. :lol:


Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:53 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I had the checksum problem on both discs and I solved it recompiling xdelta from latest sources instead of using the pre-built executable. This way it worked for me even without using the extra command line option needed to switch off checksum check. I built it using MS' Visual C++ 2008 express edition.

About the NeoGAF workaround: sure it is correct but wouldn't it be WAY easier (for people not used to CLI stuff) to just say:
)right click on file Patch.bat and select Edit
)add -n to the two lines:
xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe etc etc
)save the file
)execute patch.bat

this way you can avoid using command prompt, the damn black windows that frightens every not-too-hardcore windows user (or young users that never had a chance to work with ms-dos) :mrgreen:

About ISO files: imho the checksum problem is 99% an XDELTA issue, it doesn't really matter which software you use to create isos, it just needs to be a mode2-2352 bytes/sector track.


Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:02 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:37 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I knew it wasn't my Iso file...Because every damn Iso file for Disc 2 are all 598,541 KB


Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:29 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 7:16 pm
Posts: 70
Location: From NYC to PHX
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Ok, I was gonna start this as a new thread but it's easier to post it here. To rip the cd's with no problem, I just use ImgBurn and highly recommend it. It rips it with no hassle and automatically recognizes it as a Playstation CD. All you have to do is specify to save it as a .iso file and..voila!..you are done. Throw it in the folder with your patches and xdelta, run the .bat file and you got Policenauts in English! :)


Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:32 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:14 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Once I'm done patching, I have these two files called "policenauts_English1" and "Policenauts_English 2" iso files, along with the original ISO files.

Don't know what to do from here.


Sun Aug 23, 2009 11:01 pm
Profile
General
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:07 am
Posts: 1380
Location: Right Behind You
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Hey guys, I've had the opposite effect from most of you in this thread claiming that the E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in causes the game to crash at shooting sequences. In fact, when I try and use Pete's OpenGL2 Driver 2.7 at all, it crashes right off the bat. The E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in actually works smoothly on my end...

Quote:
Once I'm done patching, I have these two files called "policenauts_English1" and "Policenauts_English 2" iso files, along with the original ISO files.

Don't know what to do from here.


Are they the same size as the original iso files? If so, you can play the games right away! :mrgreen:

(Remember, when you choose an iso file, choose the "Policenauts_english1").


Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:21 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Artemio wrote:
dairugger wrote:
man ive been trying to patch my isos all day. keep getting errors saying "xd3_invalid_input (checksum) error.

i also tried using all versions of xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe, but it says "xdelta3 input read failed not enough storage" before the windows closes really fast.

ive also been using isobuster to convert it to "extract cd image" to "raw bin/iso"

any help??

ill be playing this on my psp when i can successfully convert it.


here you go:

Zhuk wrote:
Solution to Checksum Problems from NeoGAF:

I've found a solution, but it involves getting your fingers dirty and using the DOS prompt.

Firstly, rip your Policenauts CDs using IsoBuster as in Mr. Hyde's post. Put the disc into the PC's DVD drive, then open IsoBuster. From there, you should see a content tree with "Session 01" and "Track 01" on the left hand side; that's what's on your CD. Right-click on the "Track 01" entry, select "Extract Data", then select the bottommost option, "Extract RAW data (2532 bytes per...er, sector, or something, I can't remember). Let it rip, and you'll get a usable .iso for your trouble.

Secondly, make sure your .iso files are named Policenauts1.iso and Policenauts2.iso, and that these files are placed in the same folder as the patch files and the xdelta application.

Then, go to the Start menu, click the Run button, type "cmd" into the dialog box that opens and click Enter, navigate to that directory (by typing "cd [exact location of directory with patch and .iso's, beginning with the root drive]") and, when the DOS prompt gets there, type these instructions:

xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe -n -f -d -s Policenauts1.iso policenauts_patch1.xdt Policenauts_English1.iso
xdelta3.0u.x86-32.exe -n -f -d -s Policenauts2.iso policenauts_patch2.xdt Policenauts_English2.iso

You see, there's a bug in xdelta that makes it not work properly with Athlon CPUs (something to do with checksums, I can't wrap my head around that stuff, don't ask me), and the "-n" command bypasses the checksum verification process. This will probably work on Intel systems too, but I can't confirm that.

And remember to always burn the .iso's to CD at the slowest speed possible! I had sound and loading problems up the wazoo with mine until I figured it out! Though I still don't get any sound on the intro movie for some reason. Everything else works fine; can anyone help?


That worked perfectley! Many, Many thanks!

and to the team, thanks from the bottom of my heart- ive been waiting to play this game for over 10 years! youve made my dream come true!


Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:37 am
Profile
Runner

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 4:29 pm
Posts: 102
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
slowbeef wrote:
Souther wrote:
Guess I'm gonna have to play this on epsxe which is cool and all because of mouse support but i reallywanted to just be able to play this on my PS2.


One of our testers really did get it working on his modded PS2, but I personally didn't have one - I've only done the PSP and PS1 patch playthroughs myself.



I am unable to get it working on my ps2 either.

What type of media was your tester using and at what speed?


Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:56 am
Profile
Second Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:01 pm
Posts: 378
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Henry Spencer wrote:
Hey guys, I've had the opposite effect from most of you in this thread claiming that the E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in causes the game to crash at shooting sequences. In fact, when I try and use Pete's OpenGL2 Driver 2.7 at all, it crashes right off the bat. The E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in actually works smoothly on my end...

Quote:
Once I'm done patching, I have these two files called "policenauts_English1" and "Policenauts_English 2" iso files, along with the original ISO files.

Don't know what to do from here.


Are they the same size as the original iso files? If so, you can play the games right away! :mrgreen:

(Remember, when you choose an iso file, choose the "Policenauts_english1").



Which version of ePSXe are you using?

_________________
Life and Death hang in perfect balance...I'm only here to tip the scales.


Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:12 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 20
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Anybody up for a youtube tutorial? Just a idea. maybe not a good one though nevermind.
I am getting an access denied on the iso, and an xdelta file open failed.
I burned the ISO'S using alchool 120.


Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:19 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 90
Location: France
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
I just bought my copy of Policenauts on ebay for about 20$ (the "best" edition).
I will follow the instructions on the readme from the beginning and I hope I won't gonna have this Checksum problem.
I wonder if this Checksum problem just happens if you have a downloaded copy or does it happen with some bought copies ?

_________________
Check out my iPhone app : MGS2's Dog Tag Viewer to help you keep track of your dog tags in any version of MGS2.


Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:30 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Lexington, KY
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
LiquidPolicenaut wrote:
Ok, I was gonna start this as a new thread but it's easier to post it here. To rip the cd's with no problem, I just use ImgBurn and highly recommend it. It rips it with no hassle and automatically recognizes it as a Playstation CD. All you have to do is specify to save it as a .iso file and..voila!..you are done. Throw it in the folder with your patches and xdelta, run the .bat file and you got Policenauts in English! :)


I want to try this... what settings are needed? Read speed etc.

When I tried to pick iso instead of bin as the destination file, Yoda jumped out from behind a bush with an error message and offered to fix the settings. After I choose yes it didn't seem to really start, but I might have had my read speeds set too low.


Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:43 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:22 am
Posts: 15
Location: Illusion City
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Renard wrote:
Weird though how the save state function doesn't seem to work. Anyhow I'll keep my fingers crossed. :lol:


I've also noticed this with ePSXe. Doesn't allow me to create or load any type of save state. Selecting the save state function just results in nothing happening. Memory card save works fine though. I've tested a few other games just a moment ago and they all save fine. For me the problem persists with both the patched and the original version of Policenauts, so maybe it's an emulator issue?

Seems another person on EmuForums is experiencing the same problem with Policenauts and ePSXe as well.

http://forums.ngemu.com/epsxe-discussio ... state.html

Mr.Radar wrote:
I have this exact same problem. zlib1 is in the right place and I've reinstalled ePSXe and recreated the sstates folder and it has made no difference. I have only tried one game (the English patched Policenauts) so I don't know if it's a problem specific to that game or not. I'm running Windows XP SP3 on an Athlon XP (yeah, I know it's old) and ePSXe is installed under D:\Program Files\ePSXe (if that makes a difference). Any help would be appreciated. I've already lost significant progress in Policenauts because of this bug (thankfully the memory card saves work fine).


Last edited by StreetTrash on Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:14 am, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:55 am
Profile
General
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:07 am
Posts: 1380
Location: Right Behind You
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
seraphssavior wrote:
Henry Spencer wrote:
Hey guys, I've had the opposite effect from most of you in this thread claiming that the E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in causes the game to crash at shooting sequences. In fact, when I try and use Pete's OpenGL2 Driver 2.7 at all, it crashes right off the bat. The E}I{'s 0.98 plug-in actually works smoothly on my end...

Quote:
Once I'm done patching, I have these two files called "policenauts_English1" and "Policenauts_English 2" iso files, along with the original ISO files.

Don't know what to do from here.


Are they the same size as the original iso files? If so, you can play the games right away! :mrgreen:

(Remember, when you choose an iso file, choose the "Policenauts_english1").



Which version of ePSXe are you using?


The latest version 1.70, however, I believe this could actually be something to do with me mounting the .iso with DAEMON tools. Maybe? :/


Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:51 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:53 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Quote:
Are they the same size as the original iso files? If so, you can play the games right away! :mrgreen:

(Remember, when you choose an iso file, choose the "Policenauts_english1").





My Policenauts_english1.iso is slightly (about 1Mb) bigger than the starting iso. is that normal?


Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:37 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 2936
Location: Mexico
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Yes the transtaled disc is bigger than the original one.

_________________
From the mathematical perspective, consciousness might be regarded as a second derivative of sensation.
-- Terrel Miedaner

[Junker HQ]


Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:50 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Report issues here
Currently trying my 3rd burn of disc 1, and can't make it past the intro (seeing johnathan flying into space is really getting annoying because you can't skip it :/). It always dies at his desk with a big green fragment creeping from the right. I am playing on a real ps1 is that a problem? Everyone seems to be playing emulators. I did download the isos, I own the Saturn limited edition, but never got the ps1 till now. Am I just burning it wrong or should I play this on a computer like everyone else.


Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:03 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 202 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.